Adboost: TV/search synchronisation reinvented 

Smart and scalable TV/search synchronisation, based on machine learning 

Goodbye old synchronisation… Hello new and improved TV search synchronisation!
 Your TV ads as well as those of your competitors generate search peaks on Google. Boosting your Google Adwords campaign during these TV appearances will put you at the top of searches and will allow you to retrieve a maximum of TV-engaged visitors. However, not all ads should be synchronised. How should you determine which moment is best to activate a synchronised TV/search? 
The answer: thanks to machine learning. The arbitration of TV/search synchronisation should be based on past performances, which is why Admo.tv launched Adboost, the new generation of TV/search synchronisation. Adboost’s machine learning algorithms automatically choose the best channels and time slots to boost your Adword ads. 
  • Text Hover
  • Text Hover

With TV/search synchronisation comes learning

  • Text Hover
Adboost is a unique tool because its technology understands, compares and retains the performances of millions of synchronised combinations. Here’s why. 
First, a quick zoom in on AdWords and how it works!
AdWords gives access to the hourly performance of ads (impressions, clicks and CTR). It is not possible to go deeper into details and to obtain information second by second or even minute by minute. Yet, it is extremely likely that multiple TV ads are broadcasted during one hour. 
Adboost can model the impact of all of the possible groups of channels on the CTR. In order to do so, it simulates the average CTR that the groups studied would have obtained if only the channels of these groups were broadcasted. Adboost then obtains millions of performances of different groups of channels which can be compared with one another.
This learning phase requires at least 48 hours of analysis and is then pursued continuously throughout the whole TV AdWords synchronisation campaign.

With advanced TV/search synchronisation comes optimisation

After its learning phase, Adboost chooses the best sets of channels for TV/search synchronisation.
In order to not choose groups that contain only one or two channels, the only ones that are retained are those that have at least 4 channels. But ultimately, which groups of channels should really be retained
Adboost’s algorithm starts by categorizing the combinations of the average CTR in ascending order. This creates the green curve shown in the diagram on the right. The average CTR rises abruptly at one point, illustrated by the grey dotted line on the diagram. Adboost’s goal is simple: to launch the TV/search synchronisation only on the the groups of channels that are situated after that dotted line. It then eliminates all of the other groups with a lower performance that would have been chosen in any case by a traditional TV/search synchronisation.  
To determine precisely where this breaking point is, Adboost’s algorithm calculates the derivative (flashback to high school math) of the performance curve of the groups of channels.
  • Text Hover
  • Text Hover

Want to know more about Drive-to-Web analysis ?

Don’t waste any more time: discover the advice from our media analysts to evaluate your media plans efficiency and make the right choices on TV.

Adboost : la synchronisation TV search réinventée

Une synchronisation TV search intelligente et évolutive, basée sur le machine learning

La synchronisation est morte : vive la synchronisation !
Vos spots TV et ceux de vos concurrents génèrent des pics de recherches sur Google. Booster vos enchères Adwords lors de ces passages TV vous permet de remonter en top position lors de ces recherches et donc de récupérer un maximum d’engagés TV. Mais tous les spots ne méritent pas d’être synchronisés ! Mais alors comment savoir quel est le meilleur moment pour activer la synchronisation TV search ? 
La réponse : grâce au machine learning. Les arbitrages de synchronisation TV search doivent être basés sur les performances passées. C’est pourquoi Admo.tv a lancé Adboost, la synchronisation TV search nouvelle génération. Les algorithmes d’apprentissage en machine learning d’Adboost sélectionnent automatiquement les meilleurs créneaux chaînes et horaires pour booster vos annonces Adwords.
  • Text Hover
  • Text Hover

Qui dit synchronisation TV search évolutive dit apprentissage 

  • Text Hover
Si Adboost est unique, c’est parce-que sa technologie comprend, compare et retient les performances de millions de combinaisons synchronisées. Explications.
Pour commencer, petit zoom sur Adwords et son fonctionnement !
Adwords donne accès aux performances des annonces (impressions, clics et donc CTR) heure par heure. Il n’est pas possible d’aller plus dans le détail et d’avoir les informations à la seconde ou même à la minute. Or il est fort probable que plusieurs spots soient diffusés au cours d'une même heure.
Adboost va donc modéliser l'impact sur le CTR de tous les ensembles de chaînes possible. Pour cela, il va simuler le CTR moyen qu'auraient obtenus les groupes étudiés si seules les chaînes de ce groupes avaient été diffusées. On obtient donc des millions d'ensembles de chaînes dont les performances peuvent être comparées les unes avec les autres.
Cet apprentissage requiert au minimum 48h d'analyse et se poursuit ensuite en continu, tout le long de la campagne de synchronisation TV Adwords.

Qui dit synchronisation TV search intelligente dit optimisation

Après l'apprentissage, Adboost passe à la sélection des meilleures groupes de chaînes pour la synchronisation TV search.
Pour éviter de sélectionner des groupes ne contenant qu’une ou deux chaînes, seuls sont retenus les ensembles de chaînes qui contiennent au moins 4 chaînes. Mais quels groupes garder in fine ?
L'algorithme d'Adboost va commencer par classer les combinaisons par ordre croissant de CTR moyen, ce qui va donner la courbe verte dans le schéma de droite. On observe bien une « cassure », au niveau des pointillés, où le CTR moyen évolue visiblement à la hausse. L’objectif d’Adboost est simple : ne lancer la synchronisation TV search que sur les groupes de chaînes qui se situent au-delà de cette cassure. On élimine alors tous les autres groupes moins performants qui auraient été choisis tout de même en synchronisation TV search classique.
Pour déterminer précisément où se trouve cette « cassure », l’algorithme d’Adboost détermine la dérivée (petit retour en cours de Terminal) de la courbe de performance des groupes de chaînes.
  • Text Hover
  • Text Hover

L'analyse de votre impact TV vous intéresse ?

Pensé comme véritable mode d'emploi pour l'annonceur, notre livre blanc s'adresse à tous les annonceurs qui souhaitent comprendre comment utiliser la mesure Drive-to-Web pour analyser et booster leurs plans médias TV.