Zooming in on TV tracking

When an advertiser communicates through television, they gain access to a media planning that should reflect the entirety of scheduled broadcasts. However, this schedule is only an approximation: it doesn't allow the advertiser to know exactly when their piece will air. It is therefore difficult to check on their broadcasts or, going even further, to analyse the impact of their advertising campaign. That's where TV tracking comes in!

TV tracking: how to detect the airing of TV ads

The first step in TV tracking is making sure to be able to detect TV ads in real-time. Today, there are several technologies for detecting ads. The goal of these technologies is to give the advertiser the exact time (down to the second) of each time slot their ads aired. The most used of these technologies is one called "Fingerprinting".  
A television broadcast is made up of a series of images. Detection consists of comparing these images with a database comprising all the images of an advertiser's ads in order to detect these ads the moment they're broadcast.
But comparing these images manually, pixel by pixel, would consume an enormous amount of resources—it would be a slow, costly, and inefficient process. Thankfully, "fingerprinting" provides ways around these barriers. This method associates each image with a unique signature that represents it. It is now not the images that we're comparing, but their signatures. A good "fingerprinting" method must be quick to calculate, be able to handle minor variations in the image, and have a capacity for extremely fast searching through massive databases in order to guarantee effective TV tracking.
To give you an idea, Admo.tv's French database contains over ten million images! A single search is performed in this database 25 times a second for each television broadcast.
  • Text Hover

TV tracking: how to measure the impact of TV ads

Once you are capable of detecting TV ads, all that's left is to determine precisely the impact each TV ad has on the advertiser's online environment. Two steps are therefore necessary. This is the TV analytics aspect of TV tracking.
  • Text Hover
The first thing is to quantify this impact by comparing the measured traffic spike after a TV ad to the "undisturbed" traffic (how it should have been without the TV ad airing). TV analytics allows us therefore to calculate the number of additional visits for each detected ad. Thanks to TV analytics and TV tracking, advertisers can finally access data that enables them to evaluate and compare the performance of each of their TV ads. This data reflects the online engagement of TV viewers; i.e., how many TV viewers went to the advertiser's website after seeing the television ad.
But TV analytics doesn't stop there: in the second step, the advertiser can qualify their traffic increase thanks to user-centric attribution methods. This means separating, over the TV ad's impact period, the visitors who came as a result of the television ad from those who are there for other reasons (banners, emails, social networks, etc.). TV analytics and TV tracking help you to go further: on the one hand, they open the way to digital activation scenarios, and on the other hand, they make it possible to calculate the impact TV ads have on online conversions.

TV tracking: how to ensure the reliability of the data

Knowing the exact moment each of your TV ads airs is good, but mastering the broadcast context is even better! To refine the analysis of television's impact and avoid any bias, it's important to have access to particularly precise detection technology. Admo.tv's technology is a proprietary technology developed by our R&D team. It's the only one on the market to take into account all the factors that play a part in traffic increases: the length of the commercial break, the televisual context, the placement of the ad within the break, and even competitors' ads.
Beyond detecting ads, the method used to calculate their impact will also have an impact on the reliability of the results. At Admo.tv, the impact measurement is dynamic and adapts to all types of traffic and any impact period. By assuring the robustness of these factors, the data derived from TV tracking can be 99% guaranteed.
Finally, it's important for an advertiser to be able to access the details of the attribution method and to even be able to challenge the reliability of the data. TV tracking shouldn't be a black box! At Admo.tv, we work with our advertisers with complete transparency, and we are more than happy to explain our qualification methods as needed.
  • Text Hover
  • Text Hover

TV tracking : the first step toward TV / Adwords synchronisation!

Do you know what is TV / Adwords synchronisation and how it does work? Discover our experts' advices to capitalise on your TV investments and boost your Adwords CTR.

Le TV trackingzoom et explications

Lorsqu'un annonceur communique en TV, il a accès à un média planning censé représenter l'ensemble de ses diffusions à venir. Or ce média planning est approximatif : il ne permet pas à l'annonceur de savoir exactement quand il sera en TV. Difficile alors de contrôler ses diffusions ou encore, pour aller plus loin, de se lancer dans une analyse d'impact publicitaire. C'est là que le TV tracking entre en scène !

Le TV tracking : comment détecter la diffusion des spots TV

La première étape du TV tracking consiste à être capable de détecter en temps réel les spots TV. Il existe aujourd'hui plusieurs technologies de détection de spots publicitaires. Le but de ces technologies : donner à l'annonceur l'heure exacte (à la seconde près) de chacun de ses passages TV. La technologie la plus utilisée s’appelle le « Fingerprinting ».  
Un flux TV est constitué d’une suite d’images. La détection consiste à comparer ces images avec une base de données composée de toutes les images des spots TV des annonceurs dans le but de détecter et reconnaître les spots au moment de leur diffusion.
Comparer directement des images, pixel par pixel, est très gourmand en ressources. C’est un processus lent, coûteux et peu efficace. Heureusement, le « Fingerprinting » permet de contourner ces barrières. Cette méthode consiste à associer à chaque image une signature unique représentative de celle-ci. Ce ne sont alors plus des images que nous comparons mais leur signature. Une bonne méthode de « Fingerprinting » doit être rapide à calculer, robuste à des variations mineures de l’image et permettre une recherche extrêmement rapide dans de très grandes bases de données pour garantir un TV tracking efficace.
Pour vous donner une idée, la base de données française d'Admo.tv est composée de plus 2 millions d’images ! Une recherche est faite dans cette base 25 fois par seconde pour chaque flux TV.
  • Text Hover

Le TV tracking : comment mesurer l'impact des spots TV

  • Text Hover
Une fois que l'on est capable de détecter les spots TV, il reste à déterminer précisément l'apport de chaque spot TV sur l'environnement online d'un annonceur. Deux étapes sont alors nécessaires. C'est la partie Analytics TV du TV tracking.
La première consiste à quantifier cet impact en comparant le pic de trafic constaté suite au passage TV au trafic "non perturbé" (tel qu'il aurait du être sans passage TV). L'analytics TV permet donc d'imputer un nombre de visites TV incrémentales à chaque spot détecté. Grâce à l'analytics TV et au TV tracking, les annonceurs peuvent enfin avoir accès à une donnée qui permet d'apprécier et de comparer la performance de chacune de leurs diffusions. Cette donnée reflète l'engagement des téléspectateurs sur le digital soit combien de téléspectateurs sont venus sur le site de l'annonceur grâce à sa pub TV.
Mais l'analytics TV ne s'arrête pas là : dans un deuxième temps, l'annonceur peut qualifier son trafic incrémental grâce à des méthodes d'attribution user-centric. Il s'agit alors de différencier, sur la période d'impact du spot TV, les visiteurs qui sont présents grâce à la TV de ceux qui sont imputables à d'autres sources (bannières, emailing, réseaux sociaux...). L'analytics TV et le TV tracking permettent alors d'aller plus loin : d'une part ils ouvrent la voie à des scénarios d'activation digitale et d'autre part ils permettent de calculer l'impact des spots TV sur les conversions en ligne.

Le TV tracking : comment s'assurer de la fiabilité de la data

Connaître l'heure de passage exacte de ses spots TV c'est bien : maîtriser le contexte de diffusion c'est encore mieux ! Pour affiner l'analyse d'impact TV et éviter tout biais, il est important d'avoir accès à une technologie de détection particulièrement précise. La technologie d'Admo.tv est une technologie propriétaire développée au sein de notre équipe R&D. Elle est la seule du marché à prendre en compte tous les facteurs participant à l'évolution du trafic : la taille de la coupure pub, le contexte télévisuel, la position du spot dans la coupure et même les spots des concurrents.
Au delà de la détection des spots, la méthode de calcul d'impact va elle aussi impacter la fiabilité des résultats. Chez Admo.tv, la mesure d'impact est dynamique et permet de s'adapter à tout type de trafic et à n'importe quel temps d'impact. En s'assurant de le robustesse de ces facteurs, les donnnées issues du TV tracking sont garanties à 99%.
Enfin, il est important en tant qu'annonceur d'avoir accès au détail des méthodes d'attribution ou encore de pouvoir challenger la fiabilité de la data. Le TV tracking ne doit pas être une boite noire ! Chez Admo.tv, nous travaillons en toute transparence avec nos annonceurs et nos méthodes de qualification sont expliquées à la demande.
  • Text Hover
  • Text Hover

Envie d'en savoir plus ?

Pensé comme véritable mode d'emploi pour l'annonceur, notre livre blanc s'adresse à tous les annonceurs qui souhaitent comprendre comment utiliser la mesure Drive-to-Web pour analyser et booster leurs plans médias TV.